1. Local

Baltimore City Schools Calendar 2013-2014

Academic Calendar for Baltimore City Schools

By

Understanding the inns and outs of the Baltimore City Schools calendar is important for a number of reasons. Not only will you need these dates to arrange child care and family vacations, but also to plan when your child will bring home a progress report or a report cards. All of the need-to-know dates for the 2013-2014 school year are below -- just be sure your child is registered and has all the proper vaccinations and school supplies.

Important Dates: Holidays, Days Off & Early Release Days

  • Monday, August 26: First day for students
  • Monday, September 2: Labor Day; schools and offices closed
  • Friday, September 27: schools closed for students
  • Thursday, October 17: schools closed for students
  • Friday, October 18: schools closed for students
  • Friday, November 15: schools closed for students
  • Thursday, November 28: Thanksgiving; schools and offices closed
  • Friday, November 29: Thanksgiving; schools and offices closed
  • Friday, December 13: early release for students
  • Monday, December 23: winter holiday; schools closed
  • Tuesday, December 24: winter holiday; schools and offices closed
  • Wednesday, December 25: winter holiday; schools and offices closed
  • Thursday, December 26: winter holiday; schools closed
  • Friday, December 27: winter holiday; schools closed
  • Monday, December 30: winter holiday, schools closed
  • Tuesday, December 31: winter holiday; schools closed
  • Wednesday, January 1: New Year's Day, schools and offices closed
  • Monday, January 20: Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day; schools and offices closed
  • Friday, January 31: schools closed for students
  • Monday, February 17: President's Day; schools and offices closed
  • Friday, February 28: early release for students
  • Friday, April 4: schools closed for students
  • Monday, April 14: spring break; schools closed
  • Tuesday, April 15: spring break; schools closed
  • Wednesday, April 16: spring break; schools closed
  • Thursday, April 17: spring break; schools and offices closed
  • Friday, April 18: spring break; schools and offices closed
  • Monday, April 21: spring break; schools and offices closed
  • Monday, May 26: Memorial Day; schools and offices closed
  • Monday, June 16: last day of school for students

Full Calendar (Month by Month)

August

  • Monday, August 26: First day for students

September

  • Monday, September 2: Labor Day; schools and offices closed
  • Wednesday, September 25 through Thursday, September 26: Window for 1st quarter progress reports
  • Friday, September 27: schools closed for students

October

  • Thursday, October 17: schools closed for students
  • Friday, October 18: schools closed for students
  • Thursday, October 31: end of 1st quarter

November

  • Friday, November 1 through Wednesday, November 6: Window for 1st quarter report cards
  • Friday, November 15: schools closed for students
  • Thursday, November 28: Thanksgiving; schools and offices closed
  • Friday, November 29: Thanksgiving; schools and offices closed

December

  • Wednesday, December 4 through Friday, December 6: Window for 2nd quarter progress reports
  • Monday, December 9 through Thursday, December 12: Window for evening parent-teacher conferences
  • Friday, December 13: Afternoon parent-teacher conferences; early release for students
  • Monday, December 23: winter holiday; schools closed
  • Tuesday, December 24: winter holiday; schools and offices closed
  • Wednesday, December 25: winter holiday; schools and offices closed
  • Thursday, December 26: winter holiday; schools closed
  • Friday, December 27: winter holiday; schools closed
  • Monday, December 30: winter holiday, schools closed
  • Tuesday, December 31: winter holiday; schools closed

January

  • Wednesday, January 1: New Year's Day, schools and offices closed
  • Friday, January 17: End of 2nd quarter
  • Monday, January 20: Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day; schools and offices closed
  • Tuesday, January 21 through Thursday, January 23: window for 2nd-quarter report cards
  • Friday, January 31: schools closed for students

February

  • Monday, February 17: President's Day; schools and offices closed
  • Wednesday, February 19 through Friday, February 21: window for 3rd-quarter progress reports
  • Monday, February 24 through Thursday, February 27: Window for evening parent-teacher conferences
  • Friday, February 28: Afternoon parent-teacher conferences; early release for students

March

  • Monday, March 31: Start of 4th quarter
  • Monday, March 31 through Wednesday, April 2: Window for 3rd-quarter report cards

April

  • Monday, March 31 through Wednesday, April 2: Window for 3rd-quarter report cards
  • Friday, April 4: schools closed for students
  • Monday, April 14: spring break; schools closed
  • Tuesday, April 15: spring break; schools closed
  • Wednesday, April 16: spring break; schools closed
  • Thursday, April 17: spring break; schools and offices closed
  • Friday, April 18: spring break; schools and offices closed
  • Monday, April 21: spring break; schools and offices closed

May

  • Tuesday, May 6 through Thursday, May 8: window for 4th-quarter progress reports
  • Monday, May 26: Memorial Day; schools and offices closed
  • Tuesday, May 27 through Friday, May 30: window for final report cards for high school seniors

June

  • Monday, June 9: end of 4th-quarter
  • Monday, June 9 through Wednesday, June 11: window for 4th-quarter report cards
  • Monday, June 16: last day of school for students (if five "snow days" are used)

Other Baltimore School Links

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.