Car seats save children's lives, and Maryland requires children of a certain age to be properly secured in a car seat.
Key Components of the Law
- Every child under 8 years old must ride in an appropriate child restraint* unless the child is 4'9" or taller, or weighs more than 65 pounds. The restraint must be appropriate for the child and used according to both the car seat and vehicle manufacturers instructions.
- Every child from 8 to 16 years old who is not secured in a child restraint must be secured in a vehicle seat belt, in any seating position.
- The law is applicable to in-state and out-of-state drivers.
- Child restraint include: car seats, booster seats or other federally approved safety devices.
- Safety Recommendation: All children under the age of 13 should ride in the back seat for safety. Never place a rear-facing car seat in the front seat with an active air bag.
*"Child restraint" includes car seats, booster seats, or other federally approved safety devices.
For more information, call Maryland Kids in Safety Seats at 800-370-SEAT